Modest Is Not Hottest

Standard

I stumbled upon this today and I thought it was a beautiful addition to my thoughts. Blunt and frank and honest and I’m so glad to see more messages that say the same thing: Men, you can do so much better and women, we can expect so much better. A woman’s dress does not make her responsible for a man’s deviant actions.

The Life and Times of an Exceptionally Tall Mormon

So for those of you who aren’t familiar with how Mormons dress, we have modesty standards, similar to other faiths. We wear clothes that have some sort of sleeve, shorts/skirts to the knee, and nothing too low in the front or back. This is an outward expression of an inward commitment. This essay is in no way intended to imply I am unhappy with dressing modestly. This is actually something I have chosen to do, and love to do.

o-rosea-lake-570 (1)

Modesty is a lot of things, and it is primarily a way in which we show respect for our bodies and Heavenly Father. However, over the years, as I’ve attended Firesides, Girls Camp, Youth Activities, Sunday School, etc., I occasionally heard a different message. Modesty was my responsibility to make sure the boys around me were not tempted toward immoral thoughts or actions. Now that I’m older, I’ve started hearing it…

View original post 1,033 more words

About laceyluwho

I'm a common-sense, call it like I see it girl who has just one too many opinions for her own good. I was raised by politically involved parents who encouraged me to develop my own thoughts and instilled a sense of civic responsibility.

Leave a Reply

